Superbowl Sunday in the slushy south

Standard

I love how these nandina berries stand out in the snow! They look like natural Christmas lights.

Today is Superbowl Sunday. We have no real vested interest in the game since our beloved Steelers are out of the competition.

Normally, I make superbowl snacks, but given our current economic state and environmental predicament (snowed in), I’ll have to get very creative this year. I didn’t buy our usual array of goodies, but think I can come up with something pleasing and snack like by using what I have on hand.

Our Superbowl Snack menu will be

Bite size bean burritos (I snagged a package of frozen pintos from the freezer and we have sour cream and cheese) I’m going to put these together and then slice into rounds.

Pigs in a blanket of snow ….er ah…wait a minute! I’ll make biscuit dough and roll out and fill with hotdogs and cheese and cook in the oven

Homemade potato chips and sour cream and spinach dip (I slice potatoes very thinly and fry quickly in hot oil-much healthier than a sack of processed chips)

And for a sweet treat, I have a few slices of vanilla and chocolate cake in the freezer that I’ll serve with cool whip and frozen blackberries.

Will your Superbowl snacking be frugal ? I’d love to know what you’re cooking!

Leave a Reply

