The Frugal Musician is back (sort of)

Standard

etsy bags 019

Jane Austen inspired tote

www.alunachicstreasures.etsy.com

I’ve been insanely busy of late.  And I have missed writing and posting about my frugal adventures. I hope to get started again on my daily posts, but have decided, instead of pressuring myself in another aspect of daily living (I’m in the music business- and that is pressure enough), I’ll post when possible or when something cool happens in frugalland.  It’s been nearly impossible with my work schedule to write (which I dearly love) and share ideas and read about all YOUR wonderful ideas.

As it happens, this is my one year anniversary in blogworld.  I don’t know what I expected from blogging but am delighted with friendships made and recipes exchanged and the participation in a community of like-minded individuals. It’s indeed soul satisfying to be part of a community that validates saving instead of spending and mindful living over rampant and uncontrolled consumerism.

I’ve become more dedicated to the side hustle and have opened an etsy.com store as well as listed “stuff” at bonanzle.com. 

www.bonanzle.com/booths/alunachic

At 50, I felt a shift in time vs. work. The words of Vikki Robin and Joe Dominguez in Your Money or Your Life that money is something you trade your life energy for, echoed in my head constantly. I decided to cut out the projects that were not offering me a living income or projects that expected miracles.  I focused more on freelance opportunities. The ability to get in, do the work, and exit is enticing. I’ve been very lucky to find freelance work. I’ve been in the music business a long time and fortunately, have a decent reputation for doing a good job in a timely manner for reasonable pay.  My work comes to me via word of mouth. How wonderful is that?

So I’m still here. Still hangin out. Still hangin in. And still frugal….after all these years.

One response »

  1. Congratulations on the anniversary and the tote is gorgeous (so is the other one)!

    How fun- being so productive and creative. Very inspiring!

    I was thinking lately that if only I knew how to sew, I could make patterns from my favorite skirts and make my own, with whatever gorgeous fabric I could find.

Leave a Reply

