The Frugal Musician ain’t got nuthin’ but thyme

Standard

Layering uses vine-like growths (or runners) to produce new plants. Layering runners is simple. Peg the runner to the soil by pushing it down at intervals, an inch or two into the soil. Make sure it’s well covered. When roots have formed, lift and plant the root cluster. Be sure to cut off any excess runners. -From the Lowes Website

When the end of the gardening season rolled around last year, my dad’s garden center threw away all their remaining plants. Of course, my dad immediately “saved” them. In mid summer he had tomatoes, hot peppers and all manner of herbs growing in the yard. When I went to visit last July, I brought home several tomato plants and a big bunch of thyme.

I didn’t know thyme was a perennial plant and marveled at its resiliency over the winter.  In late winter, I read about propagating thyme and it was SO easy and applicable to other plants, I thought I would share the process.

THYME 1Clear a space around the plant. I cleared an area below my plant marker. Spade up the dirt a bit.

Then gently tug a sprig of thyme away from the mother plant.

THYME 4Lay the spring in the soil and cover part of it with dirt.

 

 

 

 

Next, use two stones or halves of bricks and prop up the plant.  One stone or brick should go over the dirt you piled on the plant. The other should prop the plant up.

THYME 6

 

THYME 7

 

 

 

 

In a couple of weeks, you’ll have a brand new thyme plant.  I followed this layering propagation method, and now have plants to give away and some to sell.

I also propagated a climbing rose bush this year, but my process didn’t work at all for roses. Maybe someone out there can enlighten me about what I did wrong.

Consider this. Not only am I able to give herbal gifts from my garden but I’m also able to sell thyme plants. And all this is possible because my dad had the wherewithall to rescue discarded plants!

Leave a Reply

