The Frugal Musician bakes biscuits

Standard

I love to make biscuits. I think it has much to do with my mother-in-law. She baked the best biscuits I’ve ever put in my mouth and my children loved them. She passed away before I could get her recipe, but I made up my own mixture of ingrediants but follow her special way of pinching the dough and rolling it into biscuits rather than rolling out with a rolling pin and cutting rounds.  This recipe makes six nice biscuits.

Mawmaw’s Biscuits

Heat oven to 450 degrees. I use a toaster oven to make my biscuits to save energy.

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 stick of butter or margarine

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

Put flour,baking powder and salt  in large bowl and cut in the butter with a fork. This simply means mash the butter into the flour with the fork.  Make sure the butter is softened a bit.

In a half cup measure, pour in 4 tablespoons of vinegar. Fill the half cup meausre the rest of the way with milk.  The vinegar with the milk makes a sour milk or buttermilk concoction. Trust me. It is really good. 

This dough will be gooey. Add more flour a little at a time to make the dough unsticky but not too dry.

frugal-musician-071

Pat out dough onto countertop or breadboard. Sprinkle with flour and knead a little more, until the dough looks like this:

frugal-musician-072

 

Pinch off sections of dough and roll into biscuits. You can roll this dough out and cut biscuits but that is not how Mawmaw did it.

frugal-musician-073

I have to point out I never SCRUB my baking tray for my toaster oven. I wash it in warm soapy water but I do not SCRUB it because it looses its seasoning and everything sticks to the tray mercilessly. So what you see is seasoning not dirt (LOL)

Bake biscuits at 450 until they’re brown on the top (about 10-15 minutes). Serve hot. We like these with strawberry jam or as cheese biscuits to accompany stoups. Yummy. I think Mawmaw would approve.

frugal-musician-075

2 responses »

  1. I love to bake and these sound delicious! I can’t wait to try them, thanks!
    We called our grandma “mowmow”- that was in Missouri. She is also the person who taught me how to bake (mostly cookies)- my mother didn’t have the patience or desire to bake.

  2. Angela, I’ve even pressed out this dough really thin and used it as dumplings in stews and soups. I like the 6 biscuit recipe – it’s just enough for dinner and then yummy cheese biscuits the next morning!
    Thanks for coming by and for reading!

Leave a Reply

