The Frugal Musician gets hemmed in…

Standard

I recently purchased a killer pair of Forever 21 black dress pants at my local thrift mart for a whopping $1.50. Apparently the previous owner completely removed the hem of the pants, leaving them long enough to scrap the pavement or floor or whatever (I’m opting pavement by the chewed up nature of the bottom of the pants).  Here’s how I repaired the damage.

frugal-musician-0761Here’s a photo of the ragged bottom of the pants.

 

 

I turned the pants inside out and I measured the inseam. The inseam is the seam that runs from the crotch of the pants to the bottom of one leg. The inseam was 31 inches and my inseam with heels, is 30 inches.  A one inch hem was just the trick to make these perfect.

frugal-musician-078

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I turned up the bottom of the pants and pinned a one inch hem and whip stitched the hem.  I found a great video about how to whip stitch.

http://www.monkeysee.com/play/2148-Sewing%2DThe%2DWhip%2DStitch

frugal-musician-081

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After I completed hemming both pant legs, I ironed a nice crease in the new hem (remember to iron on the INSIDE of the garment).

frugal-musician-083

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The pants turned out great and I wore them out the very night I repaired them. I’ll get several years wear out of something someone else discarded.  Honestly, after these become unwearable, they’ll probably end up as black stone bags, because the material lends itself nicely to making stone bags…which is a post for another day!

frugal-musician-0851

Leave a Reply

