The Frugal Musician makes homemade Soft Scrub & Hand Soap

Standard

frugal-musician-053

Way before it was hip to be frugal and years before it was cool to consider the environment, I learned to make bio friendly soft scrub. 

I use baking soda mixed with dish detergent as an alternative to chemical laden Soft Scrub. To clean ceramic tile  floors, I mix Murphys Oil Soap with baking soda. 

Typically I use an empty dish detergent bottle and pour in half baking soda and half dish detergent or Murphys. I give it a good shake and I’m ready to clean.  I’ve also mixed this in a container with a spoon if I need a particularly stiff concoction for especially dirty jobs like tile grout.

I save slivers of soap and crumble into tiny pieces into a hand soap pump bottle. When the bottle is half full of soap slivers, I fill it the rest of the way with water and let it sit until the soap has dissolved. I use the homemade Soft Soap in my garden to clean my hands before coming in the house. It works perfectly.

I’m all about alternative cleaning solutions. What are your favorites?

Leave a Reply

